Keystone Potato Producers Association

The Keystone Potato Producers Association is the processing potato producer organization for Manitoba. It began as an informal group of producers known as the Carberry Growers Association in 1963 and later incorporated as Keystone Vegetable Producers. Association Inc. in 1969. It became a Board in 2006 and adopted the current name. Members supply processing potatoes to Simplot Canada II, McCain Foods Canada, and Cavendish Farms in Jamestown, North Dakota. The processing market makes up over 85 per cent of the potato production in Manitoba. KPPA negotiates the contracts for members with McCain Foods Canada for the Portage la Prairie and Carberry plants and with Simplot Canada regarding the Portage plant. Keystone negotiates the prices, terms and conditions of the potato contracts but individual volumes are left to the company and growers. All processing potato producers must be registered with Keystone Potato Production Association. The Association is funded by a check-off from members. potato sales. Approximately 80% of the potatoes processed in Manitoba will be exported to the U.S. Keystone has an active role in other agricultural organizations such as Canadian Horticultural Council, Keystone Agricultural Producers, the Potato Marketing Association of North America, and United Potato Growers of Canada. Keystone is a strong supporter of research in the potato industry of Manitoba in conjunction with the Canada Manitoba Crop Diversification Centre, Agriculture Canada, Manitoba Agriculture, Foods and Rural Initiatives, Brandon Research Centre and private research. Manitoba is poised to be the #1 growing region in Canada, which includes process potatoes, table potatoes, potatoes destined for the chip market, and seed. The processing portion forms the bulk of the acreage.

Board Members

The Keystone Board of Directors consists of 7 members elected from various regions of Manitoba and are currently:

  • Chad Berry President
  • Stan Wiebe Vice President
  • Paul McDonald 2nd Vice President
  • Brock McIntosh Board Member
  • Travis Waterhouse Board Member
  • Sheldon Wiebe Board Member
  • Kirk Davison Board Member

The Manager of Keystone is Susan Ainsworth. The office is located in Portage la Prairie at 2401 Saskatchewan Avenue West.


Keystone Potato Producers Association Inc. 3-2401 Saskatchewan Avenue West Portage la Prairie, Manitoba R1N 4A6